External Advisory Board

The people behind the project

WRIPA External Advisory Board

  • Professor Peter Main (Chair)

    Peter Main is the director of education and science at the Institute of Physics. He is responsible for the Institute’s activities supporting: education, from primary school to doctorate: science support: science policy; and diversity.

  • Heather Barton

    Continuous Improvement Manager, Hartlepool Power Station,  Generation, EDF Energy

  • Dr Manus Hayne

    Manus works at the Department of Physics, Lancaster University. His research interests are in the physics and applications of low-dimensional semiconductor nanostructures (quantum wells, wires and dots), especially their study in high magnetic fields. He collaborates with many UK and European universities, research institutes and companies.

  • Dr Anke Lohmann

    Anke is Head of Photonics at the Knowledge Transfer Network. She is a scientist and technologist with substantial commercial experience, both as a consultant and in setting up spinout companies. She has worked in academic institutions, SME and start-up companies as well as large cooperations. Her experience took her from applied research and product development through to the commercialization of products. For that reason, she understand the concerns and challenges at each of those stages and have insight of how the different parts can be linked.

  • John McGreevy

    John is the Director at MM Microwave Ltd. A Managing Director with 25 years experience in the rf/microwave industry he is experienced in business strategy and development, project management and high power microwave design. He has a detailed understanding of microwave techniques and their applications in accelerator physics, radar and material characterisation. He is a degree qualified chartered physicist as is a member of the Institute of Physics and Institute of Directors.

  • Stuart Proctor

    Cummins Corporate Recruitment Team, Teesdale, Stockton on Tees

  • Professor Elena Rodriguez-Falcon

    Elena is the Director of Communications & External Relations and Director of Enterprise Education at the University of Sheffield.  She is nationally and internationally recognised for her enterprise education practices and her passion for diversity matters and engineering. Elena’s current goals include: (a) to enhance and embed an enterprise culture and environment across the University of Sheffield; (b) to continue to make a difference to society through her social enterprise in engineering teaching and (c) to raise the profile of engineering at Sheffield as part of her role as Director of Communications and External Relations.

  • Professor Deborah Smith

    Deborah is the Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research at the University of York and has the responsibility for all aspects of the University’s policy and strategy on research including research postgraduates. She chairs the University Research Committee and has responsibility for the development and implementation of the University’s Research Strategy and has overall responsibility for challenging and ensuring that the University maintains its ability to undertake excellent innovative research that tackles problems of global significance.

  • Dr David Sweeney

    David Sweeney is the Director of Research, Education and Knowledge Exchange at the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE).  In this role he is responsible for research policy and funding (including the Research Excellence Framework), knowledge exchange and health policy. He is also responsible for the Catalyst Fund, the UK Research Partnership Investment Fund, and HEFCE’s international engagement.

  • Dr Kevin Tinkham

    Kevin is a Senior Researcher in the Coated Products Department at Tata Steel Research, Development and Technology.

  • Matthew Wasley

    Business Development Manager, Scottish Universities Physics Alliance (SUPA), Heriot Watt University